Asia winners get bump in rankings

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) – Lin Wen-tang and Prayad Marksaeng received significant bumps in the world rankings for golf after both won events overseas last weekend.

Lin knocked off Rory McIlroy to end a three-way playoff and win the Hong Kong Open, receiving a 41-spot lift to world No. 51 this week. McIlroy, meanwhile, climbed 13 positions to 50th.

Marksaeng won the Dunlop Phoenix tournament by a shot and moved up 18 places to No. 54.

Little changed at the top of the rankings.

The top 10 remained the same as a week ago with No. 1 Tiger Woods again followed by Sergio Garcia, Phil Mickelson, Padraig Harrington, Vijay Singh, Robert Karlsson, Camilo Villegas, Ernie Els, Anthony Kim and Lee Westwood.

Jim Furyk moved up one place to 11th, dropping Henrik Stenson to 12th, while Steve Stricker, Geoff Ogilvy, Stewart Cink, K.J. Choi, Adam Scott, Justin Rose, Kenny Perry and Miguel Angel Jimenez rounded out the top 20 in the same positions as last week.


A-Rod nabs 10th Silver Slugger; half of winners new

Louisville, KY (Sports Network) – New York Yankees third baseman Alex Rodriguez picked up his 10th Silver Slugger Award on Thursday, highlighting a relatively new cast of players to receive the honor given to the top offensive performers at their respective positions.

Rodriguez tied Mike Piazza for second-most Silver Sluggers all-time. Only Barry Bonds, with 12, has more.

Of the American League winners, Minnesota first baseman Justin Morneau, Boston second baseman Dustin Pedroia and Baltimore designated hitter Aubrey Huff were first-time honorees. The entire AL outfield — the Rangers’ Josh Hamilton, Cleveland’s Grady Sizemore and the White Sox’s Carlos Quentin — won for the first time.

Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter picked up his third straight award, while Twins catcher Joe Mauer won his second.

By contrast, only three National League players won for the first time — Milwaukee outfielder Ryan Braun, St. Louis outfielder Ryan Ludwick and Florida Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez.

Outfielder Matt Holliday — who played for Colorado in 2008 but was traded to Oakland on Wednesday — won his third in a row, as did Philadelphia second baseman Chase Utley.

Other NL winners of the Silver Slugger were St. Louis first baseman Albert Pujols; Mets third baseman David Wright; Atlanta catcher Brian McCann; and Cubs pitcher Carlos Zambrano. Pujols won his fourth, while Wright, McCann and Zambrano each won his second.

Selections for the Louisville Silver Slugger Award were based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches’ and managers’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.

News provided by

Chiefs agree to terms with defensive back Celestin

Kansas City, MO (Sports Network) – The Kansas City Chiefs announced Friday that they have agreed to terms with safety Oliver Celestin on a one-year contract.

The 27-year-old Celestin played two games for Arizona this season before being released on October 29 and also spent the 2007 campaign with the Cardinals. He was a member of the Seattle Seahawks in 2006 and played for current Kansas City head coach Herman Edwards in 2004 and 2005 with the New York Jets.

For his career, Celestin has appeared in 50 games and has collected two fumble recoveries. He played his college ball at Texas Southern.

News provided by